National license for the African Writers Series

African Studies Library

The African Writers Series by Heinemann Publishing via ProQuest is accessible as a national license for Germany.

Covers of book published in the  African Writers Series during the 1960s

Heinemann Publishers' groundbreaking African Writers Series, a comprehensive collection of modern African literature of the 20th century, is available as a national license for Germany through the provider ProQuest.

Germany-wide access to the African Writers Series is made possible through funding from the German Research Foundation (DFG) and is organized by the Johann Christian Senckenberg University Library in Frankfurt.

The series, which contains more than 300 titles, includes poetry, drama and non-fiction by authors such as Ama Ata Aidoo, Mongo Beti, Steve Biko, Dennis Brutus, Cyprian Ekwensi, Buchi Emecheta, Bessie Head, Luis Bernardo Honwana, Chenjerai Hove, Nelson Mandela, Jack Mapanje and Veronique Tadjo.

For more information on access options, see the German Research Foundation's database profile for national licenses. Individuals with permanent residence in the Federal Republic of Germany can register as a single user free of charge if access is not available to them through a university network, or through their academic library.